## **DESIGN STUDIO FURNITURE MANUFACTURER LTD**



(Incorporated in the Republic of Singapore) Company No. 199401553D

\_\_\_\_\_

- 1) APPOINTMENT OF NON-EXECUTIVE CHAIRMAN, AND
- 2) RE-CONSTITUTION OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE

The Board of Directors ("Board") of Design Studio Furniture Manufacture Ltd wishes to announce that in line with recommendations of the Code of Corporate Governance 2012 to establish a division of responsibilities between the roles of the Chairman of the Board and the CEO, Ms. Tan Siok Chin, Independent Director will assume the role of Non-Executive Chairman of the Board with effect from 1 June 2012. Mr. Bernard Lim Leng Foo will remain as the CEO and Executive Director of the Company.

Ms. Tan has been an Independent Director of the Company since January 2006. The Nominating Committee ("**NC**") has reviewed Ms. Tan's qualifications and experience and is of the view that she will bring invaluable experience and insight to the Company. The Board has accepted the recommendation of the NC and has approved the appointment of Ms. Tan as the Non-executive Chairman.

The Board is of the view that the appointment of Ms. Tan Siok Chin as Non-executive Chairman and Independent Director of the Board will enable the Board to tap into Ms. Tan's experience and skills. The Board further believes that the appointment of Ms. Tan as the Non-executive Chairman will add to a greater capacity of the Board for independent decision-making.

Ms. Tan Siok Chin is also appointed as an additional member of the Audit Committee with effect from 1 June 2012.

Following the aforesaid appointments, the new compositions of the Board of Directors and the Audit Committee will be as follows: –

## **Board of Directors**

Tan Siok Chin Non-executive Chairman and Independent Director

Bernard Lim Leng Foo CEO and Executive Director

Elin Wong Hong Keow
Kelly Ng Chai Choey
Mohannad Sweid
Seah Hou Kee
Ong Tiew Siam
Hadi El-Solh
Muhammad Umar Saleem
Executive Director
Executive Director
Independent Director
Non-Executive Director
Non-Executive Director

## **Audit Committee**

Seah Hou Kee Chairman
Muhammad Umar Saleem Member
Ong Tiew Siam Member
Tan Siok Chin Member

By Order of the Board

Eliza Lim Bee Lian Company Secretary

Dated: 31 May 2012